Oklahoma Phone Number Lookup

Oklahoma Area Codes and Their Locations

Area codes are assigned to specific states and regions in the county. In Oklahoma, different area codes correspond to different parts of the state. Knowing these codes means residents can quickly identify the origins of unsolicited calls simply by looking at the numbers calling them. Residents can also identify unknown callers by their phone numbers with reverse phone lookup applications.

When AT&T and Bell’s Laboratories introduced area codes in 1947, Oklahoma was only assigned one to serve the whole state. With population increase and expanding number of phone subscribers, the state currently has four area codes with the fifth set to be introduced in 2021. The table below summarizes the four area codes currently in use in Oklahoma and the regions they cover are:

405 - Location
580 - Location
918 - Location
539 - Location

Who Controls Oklahoma Area Codes?

When the need arises for a new area code to be introduced in any part of Oklahoma, the Oklahoma Corporation Commission (OCC) must decide how the new area code will be introduced (if it will be an overlay or split) and educate consumers on the slight changes they may encounter. An area code introduced as an overlay will mean the new area code will be added to the region. Old subscribers will retain the old area code while new subscribers will start using the new area code. If it is decided the new area code will be introduced as a split, then subscribers may have to change phone numbers if they are based in parts of the region that the new area code will be assigned.

Where is Area Code 405?

Area code 405 was put into service in 1947 as one of the original 86 introduced. It used to serve the whole of Oklahoma state, but right now, it only serves Oklahoma city and surrounding areas. Some of the counties under this jurisdiction include Oklahoma County, Cleveland County, Canadian County, Pottawatomie County, Payne County, Grady County, Logan County, McClain County, Caddo County, Seminole County, Lincoln County, Garvin County, and Kingfisher County. Major cities that are served by this area code include Oklahoma, Norman, Edmond, Moore, Midwest City, Stillwater, Shawnee, Yukon, Del City, Bethany, Mustang, El Reno, Guthrie, Newcastle, Blanchard, and Anadarko.

Where is Area Code 580?

Introduced in 1997 as a split from area code 405, area code 580 serves counties like Comanche, Garfield, Carter, Kay, Stephens, Bryan, Pontotoc, McCurtain, Custer, Jackson, Beckham, Texas, and Marshall Counties. It also serves cities like Lawton, Enid, Ponca City, Ardmore, Duncan, Altus, Ada, Durant, Woodward, Elk City, Guymon, Weatherford, and Clinton.

Where is Area Code 918?

Area code 918 was introduced in 1953 to serve the northeastern part of Oklahoma. Major counties like Tulsa, Rogers, Wagoner, Muskogee, Creek, Washington, Le Flore, Cherokee, Pittsburg, Osage, Delaware, Mayes, and Ottawa all fall under this area code. Cities like Tulsa, Broken Arrow, Bartlesville, Owasso, Bixby, Sapulpa, Sand Springs, Claremore, McAlester, Jenks, Miami, and Okmulgee all use this area code.

Where is Area Code 539?

Area code 539 was introduced in 2011 as an overlay on area code 918. This area code also serves the counties and cities that fall under area code 918.